RSS

Planting Trees…

29 Jan

a wonderful couple from our church dropped by today at my house. They had 2 oak trees they wanted to give us to help us settle in to our new house, so we dug the holes and planted them. I had a couple of observations from this experience worth mentioning:

1. I’m freaking out of shape.
My yard has limestone and other rock below the sod, and digging that out was a chore. The gal was telling me my face was flushed after only 20 minutes or so.

2. I hope I’m still really active when I’m 70.
This couple is both about 70 years old, and both were wielding shovels and bags of topsoil, etc. They seemed more at ease with the work than I did. I hope also that I don’t retire spiritually by then. I want to go out with a bang, to keep serving God until my last breath. The idea of turning 65 and then spending my days on the golf course seems so boring for me. I want to do ministry for God until I’m out of here.

3. I miss being outside.
I grew up on a farm, and I was outside all of the time. I love being outside, and I’ve got to figure out a way to get outside more.

4. Simple gestures make a world of impact.
As the church, just welcoming new people into the neighborhood, spending time with them, getting to know their story, can have great impact.

My back is killing me, but I couldn’t be showed up by the 70-year old guy, could I?
Man I gotta get back to the gym!

 
1 Comment

Posted by on January 29, 2007 in Uncategorized

 

One response to “Planting Trees…

  1. d-mc

    January 31, 2007 at 5:34 am

    one of my favorite quotes:

    the best time to plant a tree was a hundred years ago. the next best time is now.

    hey-come back to the club! we’ve missed you since your first post!

     

Leave a Reply

 
