RSS

Day Two 6:30 P.M.-7:30 P.M.

15 Feb

So, I ate great all day with no cheating. Annette suggested I go to the gym after dinner, so I did. I hate running. Let me say it again… I HATE running! I’m going to be heavy on cardio the next 8 weeks, so I decided to hop on the old treadmill. Bad move.

I started with a walk. With the workout I’m doing, I gradually speed up, then go back to a slow speed, gradually speed up, back to slow speed, etc. The point is to get the heartrate up a few times. You can get more effective results in less time this way (so I’m told). Anyway, I decided to run at some point, and OH MY GOSH!! Did I mention I hate running? 🙂 Anyway, I am so out of shape. Not “I can’t breathe” out of shape. I mean, I breathed hard like normal when you’re running, but not like you would expect for an out-of-shape fat guy. I felt pretty good lungs/heart-wise. But I didn’t realize how much extra weight I was carrying. Running nearly killed me. I felt like I did in high school (back when I was in good shape) but felt like I had a 60-pound weight mounted on my chest/gut. My knees were hearting, and it was so stinkin’ hard. It was tough, but great motivation to push forward. I need cardio to lose weight, but I need to lose weight to do cardio. It’s a catch 22.

I realized that I didn’t get in this situation over night, and it’s gonna take hard work and discipline to get where I want to be. That’s just part of life. Our parents got all their stuff by working hard and being disciplined for 25 years or so, and we think we have to accumulate all that stuff in 5 years or so. So, we go into debt to have all of the same kind of stuff. Whatever happened to hard work and discipline getting results? Too much of a fast-food society we live in.

What thing is it you didn’t just fall into, but gradually got into over a period of time? What is your plan to work hard and achieve your goals? It’s gonna be a long road, but I can do it, so can you!

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on February 15, 2007 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

 
