RSS

Day 4 Reflections

31 May

Yes, it’s ridiculous. I’m sitting on the balcony of my hotel that’s on the beach. Seriously. Right on the beach. And the wind from the ocean is hitting me hard enough to flap my hair and shirt around a bit, it’s just amazing. I can hear the waves hitting the shore, I’d say the beach is less than 100 yards from me. Craziness!

It’s 1:35 a.m. and I just got back from hanging out with Pastor John Atkinson. He’s a really great guy who is a fellow blogger and a fellow small groups guy at a really great large church here in Corpus Christi. I’ll blog later more about him and hanging out, so watch for that.

I just checked on my boys and my wife and all is well, they are all asleep and seem to be quite content (maybe the fact that it’s 30 degrees in our room has something to do with that? I think I’m training them well!). I just love my family. It’s amazing that nine years ago I got married without having a clue how valuable family is and how in the last few years God has just turned my heart towards them so much. There’s nothing I’d rather do than spend time with my boys and Annette. They all have such great qualities about them (even little Brayden) and I’m thankful to God for putting them in my life, I’m completely undeserving. In my 3-5 year plan (which I was planning on working on but haven’t started officially on this vacation), I think the most important thing outside of improving my understanding/encounter with God is to be a better husband and father. To have my wife know me as her best friend, lover, constant companion, rather than a slave to “the ministry” (by the way, God doesn’t call us to give up having a healthy family for the sake of the ministry, just an FYI. And if I hear another pastor say “well, you’re in the ministry” or “you knew what you were getting into when…” sheesh). I want my boys to know me as Daddy and mentor, not as “pastor” (I appreciate Craig Groeschel for saying this and it’s burned into my heart) for my primary discipleship efforts to be launched their direction. All of the men and leaders in my life will come and go but my boys will always be my boys and the legacy I pour into them will last an eternity. I want to be a more fun husband and father, to do more things outdoors, to take better care of myself so I’ll be around to enjoy life with them… I love being a husband and a dad… what better thing could there be?

So about today- we started with a total health kick- latte’s from Starbuck’s and breakfast burritos from MacDee’s. Then we went to the huge, amazing local aquarium (okay, not huge and not necessarily amazing but cool nonetheless). Brendan seems to love seeing fish and science and talking about it, I hope he grows up to really appreciate nature and all of God’s creation and since his memory is so amazing maybe he can be a marine biologist or something like that. Relaxed in the afternoon a bit while Annette and Brendan went to the ocean and swam in the pool, and then we went for a drive around the bay and to Mustang Island (north of Padre Island)… rode a ferry (seriously, about a 25-minute wait to get on and the ride across the channel or whatever it’s called lasted 3 minutes tops), came home, had some grub, and headed to Barnes and Noble for a chat with John.
Good day, enjoyed it, looking forward to tomorrow, our last full day here, then hopping on a plane on Friday and flying home to reality.

I love the beach!

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on May 31, 2007 in random stuff, vacation

 

Leave a Reply

 
