RSS

I want to be a wrestler…

05 Sep

In staff meeting each week we work our way through a book of the Bible (a few verses at a time). We look it over, write down observations, and ask some good questions about how it applies to us and to those we pray for and lead.

Today we finished the book of Colossians (one of my favorite books), and looked at what might in your Bible have the heading “Final Greetings”.  This is a section of the book that most people skip over (I know, I do it myself), but there is great treasure in every verse.  Let me point out one part of this passage…
in Colossians 4:12, Paul says that Epaphras sends his greetings.  Following that is a great passage that I think we all can learn something from.  Paul says this about Epaphras: “He is always wrestling in prayer for you, that you may stand firm in the will of God, mature, and fully assured.”   Wow.  Wrestling in prayer for you…  I want that to be my story.  I can lead with great quotes, even set a great example, great teaching about leadership, etc, but the real battle is won on my knees.
I’ve got leaders I’m leading right now who are struggling, hurting, needy, wounded.  Sure, a word of encouragement and some practical truth goes a long way.  But the key is prayer.  Am I wrestling for them?  Am I begging God to move in their lives?  Am I asking Him to do things only He can do?
Who are you wrestling for?  Sure, it seems like it would be prestigious to be known as a great leader, to write books, to speak at conferences, etc.  But it seems something else is really “where it’s at”.
I want to be a wrestler…
 
2 Comments

Posted by on September 5, 2007 in random stuff

 

2 responses to “I want to be a wrestler…

  1. davidbmclaughlin.com

    September 6, 2007 at 2:23 am

    great post!

     
  2. jay willoughby

    September 13, 2007 at 1:56 pm

    agreed!

     

Leave a Reply

 
