RSS

Relevant?

26 Nov
One author/speaker/pastor I have a huge amount of respect for is Erwin McManus.  He’s had a huge influence on me and today I was listening to a part of his talk from the Catalyst Conference. 
Some words really stuck out to me.  I don’t even know how to comment, I’m going to chew on this for a bit.  He shares a painful truth.  I’m interested in your response to what he said…

“I’m sick and tired of being relevant.  Relevant just means that someone else got their first and now I’m trying to connect.  We need to stop being relevant and start leading the way. Wouldn’t it be more exciting, rather than saying ‘we’re a relevant church to the world around us’ for the world to be saying ‘we need need to catch up to that church, something extraordinary is happening there!’ “

Your thoughts?  
 
1 Comment

Posted by on November 26, 2007 in ministry

 

One response to “Relevant?

  1. Luke

    November 27, 2007 at 4:04 pm

    Sounds good to me. It would seem as if the church could appeal to culture by being counter-cultural. Meaning, be relevant not according to music tastes or the like, but by appealing to what true needs we know they already have.

     

Leave a Reply

 
